English language

Idioma: portugues


The 15th edition of the International Symposium on Schistosomiasis

Is the main scientific meeting specifically devoted to this important disease worldwide. It will be held in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, from 1 to 3 August 2018 at the Rio Othon Palace Hotel Copacabana.

The topics range from innovations in genomics, immunopathology, biochemistry, molecular biology, and epidemiology to recent advances in diagnosis and treatment, as well as prevention and control strategies including the intermediate host, within the guiding theme of elimination of schistosomiasis as a public health problem.

The Symposium program seeks to address the range of knowledge both "from molecular to social" and "from discovery to delivery". This approach requires close collaboration among research groups of different areas of expertise, and interaction of those groups with the formulators of public health policies and the managers of control programs.

Our purpose is that, at the end of this Symposium, be clear to all parties involved that there is no "magical formula" for the elimination of schistosomiasis; that no isolated measure leads to transmission interruption. Both the development of vaccines, more effective drugs or more appropriate drug formulations and more sensitive diagnostic methods, as well as the improvement of the strategies of Information, Education and Communication (IEC), and Water, Sanitation and Hygiene (WASH) should be highlighted to strengthen the arsenal of weapons to combat schistosomiasis. We will be providing an invaluable service to the people affected by demystifying the idea that this and other infectious diseases of poverty can be overcome with a "silver bullet".

The symposium lasts two and a half days. The program includes eight conferences and ten roundtables (with simultaneous translation English ⇌ Portuguese), plus four oral presentations and one poster session. It also includes two short courses, one of which is mainly targeted at managers of control programs.


Organizing Committee
Ana Paula Cavalcanti (Vice-Presidência de Pesquisa e Coleções Biológicas, Fiocruz)
Clélia Christina Mello Silva (Instituto Oswaldo Cruz, Fiocruz Rio)
Flávia Rianelli (Vice-Presidência de Pesquisa e Coleções Biológicas, Fiocruz)
Lilian Beck (Instituto Oswaldo Cruz, Fiocruz Rio)
Marta Júlia Faro (Instituto Oswaldo Cruz, Fiocruz Rio)
Marcelo Pelajo (Instituto Oswaldo Cruz, Fiocruz Rio)
Monica Ammon Fernandez (Instituto Oswaldo Cruz, Fiocruz Rio)
Otávio Sarmento Pieri (Instituto Oswaldo Cruz, Fiocruz Rio)
Rodrigo Correa de Oliveira (Vice Presidente de Pesquisa e Coleções Biológicas, VPPCB/Fiocruz)
Roberto Sena Rocha (Instituto René Rachou, Fiocruz Minas) – Coordenador do Programa Translacional da Fiocruz - Fio-Schisto
Silvana Carvalho Thiengo (Instituto Oswaldo Cruz, Fiocruz Rio)
Scientific Committee
Honorary President: Naftale Katz (Instituto René Rachou, Fiocruz Minas)
Ana Lúcia Coutinho Domingues (Universidade Federal de Pernambuco)
Carlos Eduardo Grault (Escola Nacional de Saúde Pública, Fiocruz Rio)
Constança Simões Barbosa (Instituto Aggeu Magalhães, Fiocruz Pernambuco)
Cristiane Lafetá Furtado de Mendonça (Instituto René Rachou, Fiocruz Minas)
Cristiano Lara Massara (Instituto René Rachou, Fiocruz Minas)
Floriano Paes Silva Junior Instituto Oswaldo Cruz, Fiocruz Rio
José Mauro Peralta (Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro)
José Roberto Machado e Silva (Universidade Estadual do Rio de Janeiro)
Marta Guimarães Cavalcanti (Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro)
Martin Johannes Enk (Instituto Evandro Chagas, SVS, MS)
Otavio Sarmento Pieri (Instituto Oswaldo Cruz, Fiocruz Rio)
Ricardo Riccio Oliveira (Instituto Gonçalo Moniz, Fiocruz Bahia)
Stefan Michael Geiger (Universidade Federal Minas Gerais)
Executive Secretariat
Anna Carla Alberto da Silva (Instituto Oswaldo Cruz, Fiocruz Rio)
Elizângela Feitosa da Silva (Instituto Oswaldo Cruz, Fiocruz Rio)
Érica Tex Paulino (Instituto Oswaldo Cruz, Fiocruz Rio)
Ester Maria Mota (Instituto Oswaldo Cruz, Fiocruz Rio)
Gabriela Friani Vieira Trevisano (Instituto Oswaldo Cruz, Fiocruz Rio)
Jucicleide Ramos (Instituto Oswaldo Cruz, Fiocruz Rio)
Mariana Lima (Instituto Oswaldo Cruz, Fiocruz Rio)
Marina Valente Barroso (Vice-Presidência de Pesquisa e Coleções Biológicas, Fiocruz)
Vanessa Valladares Cardoso Monteiro dos Santos (Instituto Oswaldo Cruz, Fiocruz Rio)


Hotel Rio Othon Palace

Address: Avenida Atlântica, 3264, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, RJ, Brasil..